10 Things I Do Whilst Procrastinating

pro~cras~ti~na~tion
[proh-kras-tuh-ney-shuhn]
noun
the act or habit of procrastinating,  or putting off or delaying, especially something requiring immediate attention: She was smart, but her constant procrastination led her to be late with almost every assignment.
 

#1 Check Facebook. I scan new statuses, have a nose through a stranger’s photographs, judge them to be inferior to me, and then go to my own profile to make sure I look as upstanding as I feel. I click the “Like” button a few times to make people aware of my presence, maybe write a meaningless status about life / me / my day / the cats and comment on someone else’s status with a simple, but eloquent “lol”.

#2 Check into Twitter. Now, Twitter is my new baby. I could easily spend an entire day here. I’ll scan through tweets, maybe favourite a few and ‘RT’ some just causes. This media outlet is the place where my ‘Animal Activist’ persona lives. She does not live in Facebook land. That is for the ‘Essex Girl gone Suffolk’ persona. Anyway, back to Twitter. So I spend my Tweets telling others to ‘Stop Animal Experiments’, ‘Go Veggie’ or ‘Ban Hunting’ etc. etc. This tends to pass the time nicely, and I’m helping the Cause.

#3 Eat stuff. Everybody does it. Only, obese people don’t know when to stop. I like chocolate, but I don’t often have it in the house. So it’s usually biscuits. Failing biscuits… Well then it’s on to my dirty secret. Yes, I’m ashamed to admit it, but I have a bag of royal icing stashed away for emergencies. Only in dire emergencies, though. Hey, don’t judge me.

#4 Watch crap TV. Even if I’ve seen it ten times before, I’ll watch it if it means I don’t have to iron. Or clean the toilet. I hate cleaning the toilet.

#5 Wake the cats up. How come they get to sleep all day? They live under my roof for free, get food for nothing and wake me up at 6:30am on my days off for their breakfast, so why shouldn’t I get something out of them? I can just shake a little catnip onto the floor and watch them go…! It’s just a bit shit when they all get out of hand and start tearing into each other… And the carpets.

#6 I’ll write some shizzle to put on my blog. It might change your life, it might make you laugh. Heck, it might even make you cry. It’ll certainly make you do something. It was originally intended for my Twitter persona (Animal Activist Girl) so I could tell the world about the horrendous world of animal cruelty, but just lately I’ve added a bit of my creative flair into it. You know, just to cheer it up a bit.

#7 Listen to some music. Usually, I’ll put music on to motivate myself, but occasionally I’ll listen to it to waste my day away. I particularly enjoy pretending that I can sing just as well as the person I’m listening to. I know full well that I have no vocal skills at all, but I try all the same. I like to think Florence has nothing on me.

#8 I’ll get into my creative mode and spend the day making something useless like a bag made out of a pillowcase. Yes, I felt like I’d achieved something, but at the same time, disappointed because I knew I’d never be able to use it in public.

#9 Spend some time convincing myself I have a rare, incurable disease. WebMD is a great source of information. I can’t tell you the amount of times I knew I was pregnant.

#10 A great way to waste some time is to bake cupcakes. I like to research my recipe thoroughly on the net, go out and buy all the ingredients (from scratch, because that costs the most money), make a massive mess in the kitchen, eat the raw mixture, eat the cakes while they’re hot, eat them when they’ve cooled and eat the icing (until your teeth hurt). And here’s a great tip: always leave an even number of cakes after you noshed on them so that nobody suspects how greedy you’ve been while you were creating your mini masterpieces. Oh, and don’t forget the hours it takes to find all that cake mixture that got spattered up the walls.

 

When I’m procrastinating, I’m busy procrastinating.

  1. Too true for a lot of people 🙂

    • missoja
    • February 11th, 2012

    I love procrastinating… number 1,3,4,7 and big 9! LOLLL I

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

